Upscale Black Greek Merchandise Home
The Divine Nine Overview
National Pan-Hellenic Council
Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity
Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority
Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity
Omega Psi Phi Fraternity
Delta Sigma Theta Sorority
Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity
Zeta Phi Beta Sorority
Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority
Iota Phi Theta Fraternity


Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority was founded on January 13, 1913 by twenty-two collegiate women at Howard University. These students wanted to use their collective strength to promote academic excellence and to provide assistance to persons in need. The first public act performed by the Delta Founders involved their participation in the Women's Suffrage March in Washington D.C., March 1913. Delta Sigma Theta was incorporated in 1930.

According to the official web site, "The Grand Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. has a membership of over 200,000 predominately African-American, college-educated women. The Sorority currently has 900-plus chapters located in the United States, Tokyo, Japan, Okinawa, Japan, Germany, Bermuda, the Bahamas, Seoul, Korea, and St. Thomas and St Croix in the U.S. Virgin Islands."


Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated - Quick Facts

  • Founded:

January 13, 1913 at Howard University, Washington, DC. Incorporated as a perpetual body in 1930.
  • Official Colors:

Crimson and Cream -or- Red and White
  • Official Flower:
African Violet
  • Official Web Site:
  • National Headquarters:
Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.
1707 New Hampshire Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20009